Election Commission Announces Biennial Polls For 8 Legislative Council Seats In Bihar

The Model Code of Conduct for these elections will come into power with quick impact, it stated.

New Delhi:

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Friday introduced the dates for biennial election to the Bihar Legislative Council from 4 graduates” and 4 lecturers” constituencies.

The voting will happen on October 22 and the counting of votes will likely be achieved on November 12.

A press notice from the ECI on Friday acknowledged, “The term of office of 8 members of the Bihar Legislative Council from Graduates” and Teachers” Constituencies has fallen vacant on May 6, 2020, due to the retirement of the sitting members.”

The identify of constituency and identify of the member”s date of retirement on May 6, 2020 is as follows: Patna Graduates” – Neeraj Kumar, Darbhanga Graduates” – Dilip Kumar Choudhary, Tirhut Graduates” – Devesh Chandra Thakur, Kosi Graduates” – Dr. NK Yadav, Patna Teachers” – Naval Kishore Yadav, Darbhanga Teachers” – Dr. Madan Mohan Jha, Tirhut Teachers” -Sanjay Kumar Singh and Saran Teachers” – Kedar Nath Panday.

As per the press assertion, the Commission, having thought of the inputs acquired from CEO, Bihar determined that the biennial election to the Bihar State Legislative Council from graduates” and lecturers” constituencies, be held in accordance with the next programme:- Issue of notification September 28, Last date of constructing nominations October 5, Scrutiny of nominations October 6, Last date of withdrawal of candidature -October 8, Date of Poll – October 22, hours of ballot – 8:00 am to five:00 pm, Counting of votes – November 12, date earlier than which election shall be accomplished – November 14.

“The Model Code of Conduct concerning these elections will come into force with immediate effect in the concerned Constituencies,” the press assertion added.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.