Shikhar Dhawan to lead India on Sri Lanka tour, six uncapped players named in 20-man squad | Cricket News – Times of India


NEW DELHI: Opener Shikhar Dhawan was on Thursday named as captain of the Indian crew that may journey to Sri Lanka for a restricted-overs tour subsequent month because the BCCI introduced a 20-man squad, filled with kids, together with six uncapped players.
With the nation’s prime cricketers already in England for the World Test Championship last and the next England sequence, the choice of a quantity of kids in the squad is on anticipated strains.
Many of them impressed in the suspended IPL and have been rewarded with their maiden India name-up. They included Devdutt Padikkal, pacer Chetan Sakaria, Nitish Rana, Krishnappa Gowtham, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Varun Chakravarthy.
Prithvi Shaw and Manish Pandey have made a comeback however Shreyas Iyer lacking out on choice means he has not but recovered from his shoulder damage.
Out of favour spin duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal are additionally half of the squad that additionally has Pandya brothers — Hardik and Krunal — aside from two wicket-keeper batsmen in younger Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson.
India are scheduled to conflict with Sri Lanka in three One-day Internationals and as many Twenty20 matches on the tour that may start on July 13 and conclude on July 25.
All the matches shall be performed on the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo.
India’s squad: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Okay Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya
Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *