World Athletics announces finalists for Female World Athlete of the Year 2020 | More sports News – Times of India

QUAI ANTOINE (Monaco): World Athletics on Tuesday introduced 5 finalists for the Female World Athlete of the Year 2020.
In spite of the many challenges offered by the world Covid-19 pandemic this 12 months, the 5 athletes, who symbolize 5 international locations and 4 space associations, have excelled, producing good performances throughout a spread of athletics disciplines in 2020.

The finalists are:
Letesenbet Gidey, Ethiopia: Gidey set a world document of 14:06.62 over 5000m. She was second in the 5000m at the Wanda Diamond League assembly in Monaco.

Sifan Hassan, Netherlands: Hassan set a world document of 18,930m in the one hour run. She set a European document of 29:36.67 over 10,000m, the fourth-quickest efficiency in historical past.

Peres Jepchirchir, Kenya: The Kenyan athlete received the world half-marathon title. She twice broke the world half-marathon document for a girls-solely race (1:05:34 and 1:05:16).

Yulimar Rojas, Venezuela: Rojas remained undefeated in 4 triple bounce competitions indoors and open air. She broke the world indoor triple bounce document with 15.43m.

Elaine Thompson-Herah, Jamaica: The Jamaican remained undefeated in seven 100m races. She ran a world-main 10.85 over 100m.

The female and male World Athletes of the Year can be introduced reside at the World Athletics Awards 2020 to be staged as a digital occasion on December 5 and streamed reside on the World Athletics YouTube channel, its Facebook web page and through Twitter.
A 3-means voting course of decided the finalists. The World Athletics Council and the World Athletics Family solid their votes by electronic mail, whereas followers voted on-line through social media platforms. The Council’s vote counted for 50 per cent of the outcome, whereas the Athletics Family’s votes and the public votes every counted for 25 per cent of the closing outcome.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *